Projects that missed out on the National Cycleway Funding

23 02 2010

Pinched from the Cycling Advocates Network website here is a list of all the projects that applied for National Cycleway funding. If they’re highlighted in red they were successful and go to the study phase. Otherwise they missed out. I’ll have an occasional series on the routes that missed out. It seems such a shame that for these projects there is no further round of funding in a year or two’s time to plan for. There is a lot of grassroots support for the whole Cape Reinga to Bluff cycleway idea, and there is a lot of support for a network of touring and recreational tracks going through the whole country. And then there are the bits of network near the cities which should be commuter cycleways, like the C40 route from Wellington to Kapiti, or C14 for a commuter route from Mosgiel to Dunedin. When it comes to cycleway funding I’m glad we got what we’ve got, and I feel like Oliver Twist begging for gruel, but “Please Sir I want some more”.

C1 The Old Ghost Road West Coast (Mokihinui-Lyell Backcountry Trust)
C2 Lake Track (Bike Taupo Cycle Advocacy Group Inc)
C3 Heretaunga Ararua: Land of a Hundred Pathways (Hawke’s Bay Regional Council)
C4 Tongariro River Trail (The Advocates for Tongariro River)
C5 The Kaimai Express (Matamata Piako District Council)
C6 Albert Town to Clyde Great Ride (The Upper Clutha Tracks Trust)
C7 Clutha Gold Trail (Clutha Gold Trail Trust)
C8 The Wakatipu Trail (Queenstown Lakes District Council)
C9 Lake Taupo Ironman Circuit (Taupo District Council)
C10 Whakatane District Cycleway (Whakatane District Council)
C11 Roxburgh GorgeTrail (Central Otago District Council)
C12 Westland Wilderness Trust (Greymouth to Ross)
C13 Old Motu Coach Road (Opotiki District Council and Gisborne District Council)
C14 Dunedin Tunnels Trail (linking Mosgiel to Dunedin)
C15 The Missing Link Cycleway (Horowhenua District Council)
C16 Whangarei Coastal Route (Whangarei District Council)
C17 Alps 2 Ocean Cycle Trail (Mackenzie Tourism and Development Trust and Waitaki Development Board)
C18 Nelson Area Cycle Network (2 Parts Nelson & Tasman Councils) Dun Mountain and Tasman Cycle Loop
C19 The Great Barrier Island Cycleway (Great Barrier Community Board)
C20 Hurunui Trail (Hurunui Trails Trust)
C21 Pahaoa – Palliser Cycleway (Trail Wairarapa Trust)
C22 Te Awa – The Great NZ River Ride (Waikato) (The Brian Perry Charitable Trust)
C23 Marlborough Sounds Link Pathway and the Wellington to Wairau Cycleway (Marlborough District Council)
C24 Tauranga Moana Coastal Cycle Trail (Western Bay of Plenty Tourism and Visitors Trust)
C25 Mamaku Rail Trail (Putaruru to Rotorua) (Rotorua District Council)
C26 Taranaki Round the Mountain Cycleway (Taranaki Regional Council)
C27 Thermal By Bike (Rotorua to Orakei Korako) (Rotorua District Council)
C28 Manapouri Cycleway (Tuatapere & District Promotion Incorporated)
C29 The Forgotten World Cycleway (Taranaki Regional Council)
C30 Southern Alpine – Pacific Cycle Trail (Canterbury Regional Council)
C31 Waiheki Island Great Ride (Fullers Group Ltd, Cycle Action Waiheke)
C32 Auckland Cycle Trail (Cycle Action Auckland)
C33 Cycle Waihemo Trail (Waitaki District Council)
C34 Central New Zealand Cycleway (Partnership Wellington Trust)
C35 Christchurch Scenic Cycling Circuits (Christchurch to Little River Rail Trail Trust)
C36 Pegasus Riverlands Cycle Trail (Wamakariri District Council)
C37 Braided Waters Cycle Trail, Canterbury (Braided Waters Cycleway Trust)
C38 The Kauri Cycle Trail (Kaipara District Council)
C39 Te Ara-Tipuna – Ancestral Pathway (The Coastal Hapu Collective Society Inc)
C40 The Coast to Capital Gateway Trail (Kapiti Coast District Council)
C41 3 Peaks Trail (Mountainbiking Otago Inc – in assn with Dunedin Trails Trust)
C42 Auckland Harbour Bridge Pathway (Cycle Action Auckland Incorporated)
C43 Mountains to Sea Cycleway (Ruapehu District Council)
C44 Manawatu River Cycle Trail (Palmerston North City Council)
C45 Kahuterawa Loop (Manawatu Mountain Bike Club)
C46 Te Apiti Mountain Bike Park (Manawatu Mountain Bike Club)
C47 Tararua Elements Cycle Network (Tararua District Council)
C48 Wild Rover Cycle Trail (Destination Manawatu)
C49 Gorges to Sea Cycle Trail (Rangitikei District Council)
C50 Tarawera River Cycleway (Boffa Miskell on behalf of Ngati Tuwharetoa)
C51 Wilderness Experience Cycleway (Owhaoko B&D Land Trust)
C52 Matakana to Omaha Cycleway (Matakana Community Group Inc)
C53 Te Urewera Rainforest Cycleway (Te Urewera Rainforest Route Incorporated)



2 responses

23 02 2010
Southern Wairarapa cycleways that missed out « Wellington Region Cycleways

[…] Wairarapa cycleways that missed out 23 02 2010 In my recent post on the community proposals for sections of the National Cycleway that missed out I said I was going to give a few details of routes that missed out. And here is the first of those […]

10 03 2010
Dunedin Cycleways « Wellington Region Cycleways

[…] 10 03 2010 Amongst the projects that missed out on the National Cycleway funding is the Dunedin Tunnels Trail, linking Mosgiel to Dunedin. It’s another one of those projects […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: