The scary insides of my electric motor

19 04 2010

My Wisper Sport has a Suzhou Bafang Electric Motor Science Technology Company 36V 250W permanent magnet brushless high speed hub motor, and I took it apart to see if I could get to the worn wires coming out of the axle.

And here’s the front plate taken off exposing the copper coils, which are tied together with string. String, string, string everybody loves string.

This is the inside of the hub.

And it takes these gears.

but I couldn’t get to the wires at the other end, back at the string end of things.

So thank goodness for heat shrink.

I might get this thing to work yet, but I’m not out of the woods yet. It’d help if my el-cheapo soldering iron could have got hot enough to melt solder the second time I turned it on.

Number 1 requirement of any future electric bike purchase is going to have to be serviceability and availability of spare parts.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 04 2010
David

It’s really interesting to see the insides of one of these. What a shame about the wiring.
I hope you’re back on the road soon. Yes a plug would make good sense.

14 05 2010
How to fix an electric bike « Wellington Region Cycleways

[…] remember the earlier posts about my Wisper Sport’s ordeal such as I Hope This Ends Well and The Scary Insides of My Electric Motor and how when I was taking off the back wheel I twisted the wires going into the back wheel axle and […]

Leave a Reply

