Bicycle advocate trash talking

4 06 2010

I greatly admire Mikael at Copenhagenize and David Hembrow at A view from the Cycle Path. I think their advocacy for bicycle culture and safe infrastructure and cycle parking at railway stations is smart and sensible. I used to feature on David’s cycle blog links, and it sent me lots of traffic, and I thank him for it, but I’ve been removed, because I like electrics too much. It’s his blog, and I still like it, and it isn’t that much poorer for not linking to mine.

Both Mikael and David don’t like electrics. Wassup with that? Aren’t we all supporters of better, safer off-road cycle paths, and safe places to park our bikes. It’s a bit like in the Life of Brian where the People’s Front of Judea and the Judean People’s Front don’t get on too well these days.

This picture comes from this post comes from Copenhagenize, and I think Mikael has started some friendly trash talking:

I’m not much of an artist and I could have done a better job in the Gimp than Windows Paint, but I’ll take up the challenge:

Some day I’m going to write in full why bicycle advocates, who personally don’t want any electric assistance on their bicycles, should embrace the electric bicycle and its place in the urban and suburban fabric, but for now I’ll just sloganeer:

and I know I stuffed up the bike logo on the blue path with a no smoking type symbol rather than a back wheel, and you can diss my artistic abilities all you like, but:

Take that Colville-Andersen.

Wellington outranked Copenhagen as a livable city according to a recent Mercer poll. I know it’s a croc, real cities have bikepaths.

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 06 2010
Haydn

Hey bro,
I wouldn’t diss e-bikes. I even bought one for my wife when we had two kids a bike trailer and no car. I would like to say however that in the defense of those two bike blog superstars from the other side of the planet. That electric biking is definately emerging technology around here. Most bike shops don’t touch them, they add significant weight which cuts against the grain of conventional cycling wisdom, they are complex systems that that may not give that much greater mechanical advantage (probablly more psychological). As you posted the other day about, what was it, changing a flat and shore off the wires to the motor, stuff like that would scare most faint hearted souls silly. Veiwing a thing from the persective of a DIY pioneer is a slightly skewed outlook, because unless there are big changes to the e-bike infustructure around these parts and bike infustucture in general this may not be the vehicle that frees the world from the chains of carmania. Is it not better to stick with the tryed and true relic that everyone already has in their garage anyway and you don’t need a second mortgage to buy it!!

7 06 2010
Patrick Morgan

The best argument I can offer for e-bikes is that they pass the grin test: try one out and if you don’t come back with a big smile, it’s not for you.
Like anything, you get what you pay for. I’ve ridden (driven?) a couple of cheap and nasties, but also some pretty nice models.
I predict after sales service will remain a problem until bike shops start selling them.

Leave a Reply

